Nested Desktops

Nested-Desktops-1920x1200

Having successfully worked out how to connect to the desktop on one machine from another using XDMCP I thought is would be fun to see just how far you could take that idea.

So I decided to see just how many sessions on as many different machines with as many different processor architectures and desktop environments I could manage. Why – because I felt like seeing if it would work – but I have to admit that opening this many desktops at once is more than a little silly.

The result above shows a MATE 1.4 desktop running on a Raspberry Pi; in a window on a GNOME 2.22 desktop running on an x86 laptop; in a window on a GNOME 2.22 desktop running on a DEC Alphaserver DS10; in a window on a KDE 4.4.5 desktop running on an x86 desktop; in a window on a GNOME 2.22 desktop running on another x86 desktop!

That is five desktops, with three different desktop environments, running on three different types of processor architecture…

Note – This isn’t something I’d try anywhere other than my own private network as using XDMCP is rather insecure.

I’d wanted to include a DECwindows desktop running on a VAX in the above screenshot but wasn’t able to as I didn’t know how to do that, although I knew it should be possible and I eventually figured it out!

This entry was posted in Debian, Linux, Networking, Raspbian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

